Tucson CitizenTucson Citizen

UA pitcher Mowatt, Chargers’ Tomlinson athletes of year

UA softball pitcher Tayrne Mowatt, right, receives the ESPY for female athlete of the year from Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning and actress Katie Walsh.

UA softball pitcher Tayrne Mowatt, right, receives the ESPY for female athlete of the year from Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning and actress Katie Walsh.

LOS ANGELES – Arizona softball star Taryne Mowatt won female athlete of the year and female college athlete honors at the ESPNY Awards on Wednesday night.

She pitched every inning, including eight complete games and threw more than 1,000 pitches in six days, to lead the Wildcats to their second straight NCAA championship.

Mowatt defeated Los Angeles Sparks center Lisa Leslie, ex-UA golfer Lorena Ochoa and Tennessee basketball star Candace Parker for athlete of the year.

“I definitely was a little surprised to win,” Mowatt said backstage. “Being up against them, it’s just surreal.”

LaDainian Tomlinson won four trophies, including male athlete of the year for his record-setting season with the San Diego Chargers.

Tomlinson defeated LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning, Wimbledon champion Roger Federer and Tiger Woods for athlete of the year.

James and comedian Jimmy Kimmel co-hosted the 15th annual show honoring the year’s best sports moments and athletes at Hollywood’s Kodak Theatre. It airs Sunday at 9 p.m. EDT on ESPN.

Tomlinson also won best NFL player, record-breaking performance, and the Like Nothing Else award. The NFL MVP scored 31 touchdowns and 186 points, both league records, and rushed for 1,875 yards.

James won best NBA player; Federer earned his third straight male tennis player trophy; Manning won championship performance for his Super Bowl triumph; and Woods was chosen best golfer for the third year in a row, his record 18th ESPY.

James did a song-and-dance routine in glasses and a wig to Bobby Brown’s song “My Prerogative” with rewritten lyrics.

“Bobby Brown just checked back into rehab as a result of that performance,” Kimmel joked.

The Colts were named best team, while Tony Dungy, the first black coach to win a Super Bowl, captured the best coach-manager category.

Boise State’s football team won awards for best game and best play. The Broncos upset Oklahoma in the Fiesta Bowl on a two-point conversion using the Statue of Liberty play.

The best moment award went to the New Orleans Saints, who returned to the Superdome for the first time since Hurricane Katrina and defeated the Atlanta Falcons on “Monday Night Football.”

The best finish category was added this year. The Los Angeles Dodgers won for a victory over the San Diego Padres in which they hit four consecutive homers to force extra innings and then won on a two-run homer by Nomar Garciaparra.

North Carolina State women’s basketball coach Kay Yow won the inaugural Jimmy V ESPY for Perseverance. She was undergoing chemotherapy treatment for breast cancer while coaching the Wolfpack during this year’s NCAA tournament.

The Arthur Ashe Courage award went to Trevor Ringland and Dave Cullen from Northern Ireland. They founded PeacePlayers to bring Protestant and Catholic children together to play basketball.

Winners in all but the Jimmy V and Arthur Ashe categories were determined by online fan voting. ESPN said a record 12.5 million votes were cast.

Citizen Online Archive, 2006-2009

This archive contains all the stories that appeared on the Tucson Citizen's website from mid-2006 to June 1, 2009.

In 2010, a power surge fried a server that contained all of videos linked to dozens of stories in this archive. Also, a server that contained all of the databases for dozens of stories was accidentally erased, so all of those links are broken as well. However, all of the text and photos that accompanied some stories have been preserved.

For all of the stories that were archived by the Tucson Citizen newspaper's library in a digital archive between 1993 and 2009, go to Morgue Part 2

Search site | Terms of service