Tucson CitizenTucson Citizen

Runoffs assured in Marana, Sahuarita, S. Tucson elections

Voters in Marana, Sahuarita and South Tucson cast ballots for municipal council members Tuesday in nonpartisan primary elections.

To be elected in the primary, candidates must receive votes equal to more than 50 percent of the ballots cast. If all of the seats aren’t filled, a runoff election will be held May 19. The number of candidates to advance to the runoff is equal to twice the number of unfilled seats. In other words, if there are three seats left to fill, the top six candidates advance to the primary.

Primary results

South Tucson (Vote for 3) total votes: 323

Paul Diaz* 26.9%

John Felix 29.4% in runoff

Ildefonso Green* 30.0% in runopff

Herman Lopez 26.0%

Carlos Salaz 66.2% elected

Pete Tadeo* 67.5% elected

Marana (Vote for 4) total votes: 2,998

Patti Comerford* 52.3% elected

Herb Kai* 64.2% elected

Kelle Maslyn 48.9% in runoff

Carol McGorray* 48.9% in runoff

Jon Post* 42.6% in runoff

Larry Steckler 37.1% likely in runoff

Bret Summers 36.9%

Sahuarita (Vote for 3) total votes: 3,164 Duane Blumberg 43.6% in runoff

Kara Egbert 36.0% in runoff

Rosanna Gabaldon 33.7% in runoff

David Gifford 23.2%

Alex Jacome 27.8% in runoff

Roger Minor* 26.5% in runoff

John Sullivan* 39.3% in runoff

*Denotes incumbent

Citizen Online Archive, 2006-2009

This archive contains all the stories that appeared on the Tucson Citizen's website from mid-2006 to June 1, 2009.

In 2010, a power surge fried a server that contained all of videos linked to dozens of stories in this archive. Also, a server that contained all of the databases for dozens of stories was accidentally erased, so all of those links are broken as well. However, all of the text and photos that accompanied some stories have been preserved.

For all of the stories that were archived by the Tucson Citizen newspaper's library in a digital archive between 1993 and 2009, go to Morgue Part 2

Search site | Terms of service