Tucson CitizenTucson Citizen

This week in auto racing

(All Tucson times)



NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race

Site: Concord, N.C.

Schedule: Saturday, Sprint Showdown, 4:30 p.m.; NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, 6 p.m. (Speed, 4 p.m.)

Track: Lowe’s Motor Speedway (quad-oval, 1.5 miles)

Distances: Sprint Showdown, 60 miles, 40 laps; NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race, 150 miles, 100 laps in segments of 50, 20, 20 and 10, with only green-flag laps counting in the final segment

Last year: Kasey Kahne won the non-points event after getting into the 24-car field in a fan vote.

Last week: Mark Martin, 50, won for the second time in the last four races, outlasting Hendrick teammate Jimmie Johnson in a wreck-filled race at Darlington Raceway.

Fast facts: The top two finishers in the Sprint Showdown and a driver selected in fan voting will complete the 21-car All-Star field. Kahne, Martin, Johnson, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle, Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards, Clint Bowyer, Jeff Burton, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Tony Stewart, Brad Keselowski, Matt Kenseth and Ryan Newman earned spots with race victories in 2008 and ’09. Kevin Harvick qualified with his 2007 All-Star victory, and Bobby Labonte got in as the 2000 series champion.

Next race: Coca-Cola 600, May 24, Lowe’s Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.


North Carolina Education

Lottery 200

Site: Concord, N.C.

Schedule: Friday, 5 p.m. (Speed) Track: Lowe’s Motor Speedway (quad-oval, 1.5 miles)

Distance: 201 miles, 134 laps

Last year: Matt Crafton raced to his first series victory.

Last race: Mike Skinner gave NFL star Randy Moss his first victory as a NASCAR owner, winning the rain-shortened race at Kansas Speedway on Monday, April 27.

Fast facts: Skinner leads the season standings with 801 points, followed by Ron Hornaday Jr. (776), Todd Bodine (744), Crafton (707) and Benson (685).

Next race: AAA Insurance 200, May 29, Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.


NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals

Site: Bristol, Tenn.

Schedule: Friday-Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, Saturday, 3 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 4 p.m.)

Track: Bristol Dragway

Last year: Melanie Troxel became the first female driver and 14th overall to win in both nitro classes, beating Mike Neff in the Funny Car final.

Last event: Del Worsham raced to his first Funny Car win of the season in the NHRA Midwest Nationals. Antron Brown (Top Fuel), Jeg Coughlin (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won.

Fast facts: Capps, the winner of three of the first seven events, leads the Funny Car standings with 562 points. Brown has an 18-point lead in Top Fuel, Coughlin leads the Pro Stock standings, and Krawiec tops the Pro Stock Motorcycle class.

Next event: O’Reilly NHRA Summer Nationals, May 29-31, Heartland Park Topeka, Topeka, Kan.


NATIONWIDE: CARQUEST Auto Parts 300, May 23, Lowe’s Motor Speedway, Concord, N.C.

INDY RACING LEAGUE: Indianapolis 500, May 24, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis

FORMULA ONE: Monaco Grand Prix, May 24, Monte Carlo, Monaco

Citizen Online Archive, 2006-2009

This archive contains all the stories that appeared on the Tucson Citizen's website from mid-2006 to June 1, 2009.

In 2010, a power surge fried a server that contained all of videos linked to dozens of stories in this archive. Also, a server that contained all of the databases for dozens of stories was accidentally erased, so all of those links are broken as well. However, all of the text and photos that accompanied some stories have been preserved.

For all of the stories that were archived by the Tucson Citizen newspaper's library in a digital archive between 1993 and 2009, go to Morgue Part 2

Search site | Terms of service