Tucson CitizenTucson Citizen

Students qualify for state math contest

Citizen Staff Report

Citizen Staff Report

Young Tucson math whizzes are headed to state competition after placing in this year’s MATHCOUNTS contest.

About 130 students participated in the Southern Arizona Chapter of the competition, held Feb. 14 at Cienega High School.

The program promotes math achievement and hosts competitions similar to sports events. Students train individually and in teams and can compete in local, state and national competitions.

The top four students in Arizona will receive a free trip to Orlando, Fla., for national competition in May. National winners receive college scholarships, and the champion wins a trip to U.S. Space Camp.

The top ranking Tucson teams, consisting of the top 40 percent of all teams, were:

1. Sonoran Science Academy

2. Desert Sky Middle School

3. Alice Vail Middle School

4. Emily Gray Junior High School

5. R. B. Wilson K-8 School

6. Amphitheater Middle School

7. Coronado K-8 School

8. Corona Foothills Middle School

The top ranking students, consisting of the top 25 percent of all participating students, were:

1. Joshua Sloan, Sonoran Science Academy

2. Peter Bian, Sonoran Science Academy

3. Courtney Spalt, Emily Gray

4. Nicholas McFarlin, Sonoran Science Academy

5. Kirk Hendricks, BASIS Tucson

6. Stephanie Mendivil, Desert Sky

7. Stan Palasek, Sonoran Science Academy

8. Nam Ngo, Desert Sky

9. Ostin Zarse, Sonoran Science Academy

10. Dulce Ochoa, Alice Vail

11. Sophie Clark, Alice Vail

12. Michah Scholes, Emily Gray

13. Nathan Toombs, Corona

14. Paul Wrona, R. B. Wilson K-8 School

15. Aimee Askira, BASIS

16. Alex Frank, Desert Sky

17. Sam Wilson, Alice Vail

18. Ty Schneider, Sonoran Science Academy

19. Maren Bailey, Alice Vail

20. Harrison Hanzlick, Alice Vail

21. Jeremy Lenington, Emily Gray

22. Rachel Foss, Emily Gray

23. Andrew Wien, Coronado

24. Allie Hilkemeyer, Desert Sky

25. Lucian Draper, Amphitheater Middle School

26. Michael Wang, BASIS

27. Katy Muhlrad, Sonoran Science Academy

28. Michael Kronenfeld, Wilson

29. James Parisi, Sonoran Science Academy

30. Lisandro Jimenez, Billy Lane Lauffer Middle School

31. Marisa Halfman, Emily Gray

32. Ashlee Riehl, Desert Sky

Sonoran Science Academy will advance to state competition on March 14. The top two students not on the top team will also advance: Courtney Spalt of Emily Gray and Kirk Hendricks of BASIS.

Our Digital Archive

This blog page archives the entire digital archive of the Tucson Citizen from 1993 to 2009. It was gleaned from a database that was not intended to be displayed as a public web archive. Therefore, some of the text in some stories displays a little oddly. Also, this database did not contain any links to photos, so though the archive contains numerous captions for photos, there are no links to any of those photos.

There are more than 230,000 articles in this archive.

In TucsonCitizen.com Morgue, Part 1, we have preserved the Tucson Citizen newspaper's web archive from 2006 to 2009. To view those stories (all of which are duplicated here) go to Morgue Part 1

Search site | Terms of service