Tucson CitizenTucson Citizen

Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey earns first-team All-Pac-12 honor

Ka'Deem Carey

Ka’Deem Carey has reason to celebrate. He’s Arizona’s first first-team all-conference running back in 11 years. Photo by Matt Kartozian-US PRESSWIRE

Arizona Wildcats sophomore Ka’Deem Carey has been selected first-team All-Pac-12, becoming the program’s first all-conference running back since 2001.

Carey, the nation’s leading rusher at 146.4 yards per game, was selected to the first team along with Oregon senior Kenjon Barner. The Pac-12 is loaded with running backs this season, as UCLA’s Johnathan Franklin (ninth nationally in rushing) and Stanford’s Stepfan Taylor (16th) were second team.

Arizona senior Matt Scott was the second-team selection at quarterback behind Oregon redshirt freshman Marcus Mariota.

The Wildcats have never had a first-team all-conference quarterback since joining the Pac-1o in 1978. Scott is the fourth UA quarterback to make the second team, joining Tom Tunicliffe (1983), Keith Smith (1998) and Willie Tuitama (2008).

Arizona sophomore receiver Austin Hill was selected All-Pac-12 second team at another very competitive position.

Four Wildcats earned honorable mention all-conference honors: senior receiver Dan Buckner, junior linebacker Jake Fischer, senior center Kyle Quinn and sophomore safety Jared Tevis.

Carey has rushed 274 times for 1,757 yards and 20 touchdowns. His yardage total, with a bowl game still to come, ranks 10th in conference history for a season.

He set the conference single-game record with 366 yards against Colorado, beginning a three-game stretch in which he ran for 742 yards to end the regular season.

Carey also leads the nation in most runs of at least 10 yards (54) and most runs of 20-plus yards (20).

Arizona’s last first-team all-conference running back was Clarence Farmer in 2001.

Carey is Arizona’s seventh first-team running back in the Pac-10 years. The only schools with fewer in that time are Arizona State and Washington State at six.

USC receiver Marqise Lee was chosen the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year. Arizona State defensive tackle Will Sutton won the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year honor.

Coaches selected Mariota as the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year, and USC defensive tackle Leonard Williams as the top freshman on defense.

Stanford’s David Shaw won Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive season.

Find full list of conference honors at Pac-12.com.

Search site | Terms of service